The Long Road…

Image CC-By: Marwa Morgan

Link to License: https://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-nc-nd/2.0/legalcode

I hit another milestone on my ILP!

I finished going through my paper manuscript and noting any revisions I thought it needed. Which means that I am that much closer to having a second draft. I did realize that the second half of my book’s pacing is not right; it is too slow at first and then speeds up too much at the end for readers to be able to keep up. I think I have a general idea of how to fix it, but I’ll just have to see what I can do when I actually go into my document and make the revisions.

I also have to sit down and think about what scenes I want to add in. My end goal word count is about 90,000, and right now I’m at about 65,000. There is going to be a lot of things I get rid of while I edit, so I’d like to add in more to increase the size of my novel. I also think it needs more action to pick up the pace in some spots and give my plot a little bit of higher stakes. I haven’t exactly finalized what scenes I want added in, but I do have an idea.

I’ve also become very excited at the idea of letting people read my draft. Although it will be hard to hear criticism, it will be so good for me to hear what I can do to make my novel better based on the views of readers. I really believe that is when the best editing is going to take place. It will also give me an idea of how readers will react to my writing.

I haven’t really set a timeline of when I want to be able to send submissions in to literary agents; you can’t really time things exactly how you want to. But, being ready by the end of this summer would be ideal. We’ll see if that actually happens or not. Although I love writing, doing good in school and working hard to become the best teacher I can be comes first..

I have a long road ahead of me before I become a real published author. But Digital Literacy has given be a great opportunity to start the journey, and for that I am forever grateful.

2 thoughts on “The Long Road…

  1. Ali Meyer

    So proud of you Keeya! Personally I think editing is the hardest part, but I also feel like it’s refreshing. It’s going over what you’ve already wrote and adding in things to only make it better. Good luck with the revision process! I’m super proud of you! 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

