Done and Done!

Featured Image CC-By: quattrostagioni

Link to Creative Commons License: https://creativecommons.org/licenses/by/2.0/legalcode

220 pages and 64,334 words later and I can happily say that I am finally done with my first draft. It took me around 3 years to finish it, but I finally did it! Now I’m sitting here thinking about starting the editing process, and I know I have a huge task ahead of me. I think I am going to start out by printing off a paper copy of the draft to edit. I’ve always found that editing paper copies of your drafts for any paper is so much more beneficial than editing on a computer; it is easier to catch grammatical errors and hand writing notes always helps me process what I read better. After I get through editing the entire story and making all the changes I want, I think I am going to let a couple friends read the draft to see what they think and hopefully get some good feedback. I’ll add in their suggestions and (after some serious pep-talk) send off my final copy to literary agents. I have been researching different literary agents the past few months and I have two that I would really like to go through. They are Nelson Literary Agency and KT Literary, both based out of Colorado. If by some miracle a literary agent does want to take on my work, I thought it would be much easier for me if they were located in my home state of Colorado. If neither of these agencies want to take me on, I will have to continue my research to find other agencies that I am interested in.

The second consideration I have to make is when I want to start the sequel (trust me, I know I am getting way ahead of myself). I am not sure if I should wait until I am completely finished editing the first portion, or just write as I find inspiration and motivation. The dreamer side of me thinks that, again, if by some miracle, a literary agent takes me on and helps me get published then I’ll only have so much time to finish the sequel. It takes me forever to write and I am a busy college student, so that crazy and unlikely possibility is just a concern I have.

One last thing I started thinking about this weekend is the fact that I am going to have to be prepared to receive criticism on my work. This story is like my baby, and that is one of the reasons that, for a long time, I never told anyone I was writing. I have a while to prepare myself for it, but it is still a nerve-wracking thought.

Anyways, I hope everyone else’s projects are going well! Good luck and happy learning!

5 thoughts on “Done and Done!

  1. I think writing a book is amazing! I know what you mean about being nervous for criticism. It can be scary because you think people will just tear you apart but I don’t think it will be to harsh. Just have to remember they want you to be proud of your writing and make it the best it can be. Keep up the good work! Can’t wait for the end result.

    Like

  2. Ali Meyer

    Wow this is awesome Keeya! Congratulations on finishing your first draft!!! 🙂 I’m so happy that you’ve gotten this far on your novel, especially after your never ending dedication to it! I think you’ve got a bright future ahead for this book so go for it! I know sometimes criticism sucks, but it’ll only help you get better. Good luck Keeya! 🙂

    Like

  3. Wow Congratulations… finishing the first draft of the book, that’s amazing! Having the determination to get that finished is great. I’m a procrastinator as it is, so I don’t think finishing a book would be in my future. Good Luck with the editing, and that sequel!

    Like

Leave a Reply

