Almost there…

Featured Image CC-By: Tim Norris

Link to Creative Commons License: https://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-nc-nd/2.0/legalcode

I am in the home stretch of my novel. I can’t even begin to explain how happy that makes me. I know I talked about this last week, but I am even closer this week, and it makes me giddy with happiness. Of course, I know it’s only the first draft, but part of me still thought I would never reach this point. You kind of have to celebrate every little milestone you reach as a writer; it keeps the excitement of your story going and keeps you motivated to finish.

I had an epiphany this week; I realized how much you can get done when you sit down and really focus on doing something. I think I’ve gotten the best work done on my novel in the past six weeks or so we’ve been assigned to work on our Individual Learning Projects. I can’t wait until December to look back and see what I did.

I tend to think a lot when I write; writing lets me process through my thoughts and relaxes me, which in turn lets my mind wander. While I was working today, it hit me that I’m almost done with the first book, which means I’m going to have to start thinking about eventually starting the second one. I know that will be a few long months away from now. I also know that just because I write something doesn’t mean it’s good and that the likelihood of a literary agent taking a chance on a first-time author isn’t high. But I am closer than I ever have been to being able to do that, and even though there are many what-ifs and obstacles in the way before that ever happens, I can at least see it.

I’ve also noticed a pattern recently. On my twitter bio I included that I was an aspiring author, and a lot of my tweets have revolved around my individual learning project. Holy moly, writing and publishing twitter accounts find you. None of them are actually literary agents (although I followed the ones I’m looking into sending a submission to), but it is still interesting to see how the world of writers kind of binds together through social media. I am interested in doing a little more research on these accounts to find out if they are worth following.

Anyways, good luck to all as you continue to work on your Individual Learning Projects. We’re halfway there!

One thought on “Almost there…

  1. Ali Meyer

    Keeya! Goodness, you have no idea how many times I said amen when I was reading this blog! I definitely agree that you have to celebrate every little milestone when being a writer, sometimes it’s just getting over writer’s block to finish a scene. But I want to say congratulations on getting to the finish of your first draft. That’s a HUGE accomplishment that you should be incredibly proud of! 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

